A rare performance by the small acoustic verison of the Gavin Bryars Ensemble with tenor John Potter. Gavin Bryars was born in Yorkshire in 1943. His first musical reputation was as a jazz bassist and subsequently as a composer of international repute. The Gavin Bryars Ensemble with John Potter (ex Hilliard Ensemble), founded in 1981, performs internationally, including appearances in France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Norway, Finland, Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania, Hungary, Czeck Republic, Belgium, Germany, Holland, Mexico, Norway, Austria, Japan and Australia, as well as giving occasional concerts in UK.

We are delighted that they have chosen our intimate venue for this performance.


Laude Dolçe no. 1 (2007) solo cello, electric guitar, double bass

Lauda 4 “Oi me lasso” (2002) tenor, ensemble

Lauda 32 “Omne homo” (2005) tenor, ensemble

Lauda 39 “Magdalena degna da laudare” (2009) tenor, ensemble

Lauda Dolçe no. 2 (2007) solo viola, electric guitar and double bass

Solos from Irish Madrigals (2004-2007) Petrarch, trans JM Synge; tenor, ensemble

“He wishes he might die and follow Laura”

“The sight of Laura’s house reminds him of the great happiness he has lost”

“He sends his rhymes to the tomb of Laura to pray her to call him to her”

– interval –

It Never Rains (2010) – electric guitar, viola, cello, bass

from the Morrison Songbook (2010)- Blake Morrison; tenor, ensemble


“Almond Tree”

“In April”

“Just As The Ash-Glow”

The Flower of Friendship (2009) electric guitar, viola, cello and bass

(possibly + Epilogue from Wonderlawn)

John Potter (tenor); Morgan Goff (viola), Nick Cooper (cello); James Woodrow (electric guitar); Gavin Bryars (double bass)